Spooky Tomatoes

IMG_20141030_140452 IMG_20141031_155757IMG_20141031_150042I know that tomatoes aren’t normally associated with Hallowe’en; but then it was the warmest 31st October on record today, so the perfect time to clear out these summer fruits. And the tunnel really became eerier and eerier as it became emptier; I could almost see the ghosts of my summer self wizzing up and down the rows, picking and side-shooting; and taste the spirits of tomato past. Especially when it began to get dark (before 5pm!!) and the tunnel was truly empty, and so quiet. Eek.

I took over most of the green tomatoes (well, unripe tomatoes; Indigo Rose tomatoes are purpley-green when unripe, rather than purpley-pink) to the shop in punnets, and in trays to the café, for the lovely kitchen crew to turn into amazing chutney. Over at the Farm Shop I could hear the phone ringing constantly, as desperate people tried to get hold of pumpkins, which sold out yesterday. I offered the last of the super warty small pumpkins this morning, which was snapped up gleefully; and then more desperate people also bought Crown Prince squashes as grey pumpkins (much tastier though, I hope they remember to hollow out most of the flesh first); plus I even sold my very last pumpkin, which was still half-green. It feels good to have sold them all.

IMG_20141031_172341My other half had meanwhile been carving the badger-molested pumpkin which I had brought home as ours, and I came back to this sick-making work of art. Should do the trick when it comes to warding off evil spirits anyway…

Leave a Reply

