Toadal Success

IMG-20130613-00452So happy today: while give the edges of the Fivepenny tunnel by the hedge a quick weed (in order to discourage the slugs from easily having a munch of early beetroot), I found a toad! This is the first time I’ve seen a frog or toad here; and I hope it means my wildlife pond just a few metres away is encouraging slug predators such as toads to pay me a visit. I think it’s a young common toad, and they are on the IUCN Red List (although very low down), mostly because of a reduction of habitat. There are certainly plenty of slugs for it to enjoy here; and it can also takes its pick of woodlice and other invertebrates when out hunting this evening. It did make me jump though, just as I made it actually jump too: I last saw it shuffle-hopping off among the beetroot. Hope it has a good dinner tonight!

One thought on “Toadal Success

Leave a Reply

