Houston, We Have A Problem…

IMG-20130221-00219The newest polytunnel, put up last summer, is right behind the first two tunnels and next to the hedge; therefore it invaded prime rabbit territory. They still have all the rest of the horses’ fields to play in, of course; but I have noticed a number of rabbit runs in the hedge becoming more apparent during the winter. Then last week I strolled into the tunnel to pick some beetroot and salad, and was confronted by a proper gurt big rabbit hole under the beetroot. Hmm.

Then the following day I went into the tunnel and caught possibly the largest rabbit I’ve ever seen in the act: it freaked out and ran from one side of the tunnel to the other, sumersaulting into the plastic, before shooting out through a gap in the plastic by the door. That must be how they got in too. Damn. I’ve tried filling in the hole a couple of times; but think I’m going to get hold of a friend’s terrier and send it down the hole, in return for breakfast (and the rabbit). There doesn’t seem to be too much damage in the tunnel at the moment (just some burried baby chard and chervil plants), but I don’t want rabbits in the tunnel when I plant lettuces out etc. Mind you, the soil they’ve dug out is amazing: crumbly and light, better than any rotovator could do. Silver lining I suppose…

Leave a Reply

