Goodbye & Good Riddance

 

Rain, rain, mud, slug, rain… let's wring (dry) in the New Year
Rain, rain, mud, slug, rain… let’s wring (dry) in the New Year

Well, there goes my second year here; and I’m so glad that I had 2011 as my first growing year on my own – I think if I’d started this year, I would have given up. There have been quite a large number of times this year when I’d felt like giving up, and that I was literally drowning: the inevitable, persistent and depressing rain seemed to make an appearance every day in the last six months. Plus the cloying, sapping and unworkable silty mud which made even walking from one patch to another exhausting; let alone the endless slugs, scheming pigeons and other pests who were keen to steal hard-won veg away.

So thanks for nothing (although cheers for the leeks and tomatoes) and now bugger off 2012: I’m sure 2013 will be better. Apart from anything else, since the world didn’t come to an end last week, it’ll be a bonus eh? I just can’t wait for the feeling in spring, when you are actually properly dry, and start to warm up with the sun on your face. Bliss…

Leave a Reply

